Login    Register       FAQ       Search  






Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 

 

Author Message
 Post subject: Macro Fields Defined?
PostPosted: Thu May 15, 2008 7:58 am 
Offline


Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 7:49 am
Posts: 3
Location: Mpls, MN

Being fairly new to the world of macros, could someone define for me the fields that exist in the macro section? The record feature is great and invaluable for efficiency, but I'd like to know what's happening "behind the scenes" so to speak.

Here are the fields:

Type - ID - Command - Arg 1 - Arg 2 - Arg 3 - etc....



Thanks!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Macro Fields Defined?
PostPosted: Fri May 16, 2008 3:28 pm 
Offline


Joined: Sat Nov 25, 2006 8:15 am
Posts: 94
Location: Pittsburgh, PA

[quote="JPeterson"]Being fairly new to the world of macros, could someone define for me the fields that exist in the macro section? The record feature is great and invaluable for efficiency, but I'd like to know what's happening "behind the scenes" so to speak.

Here are the fields:

Type - ID - Command - Arg 1 - Arg 2 - Arg 3 - etc....



Thanks![/quote]

Not sure I understand the question do you mean the 232 protocol?
Clearones' protocol is good and hasn't changed much from the beginning.

There are commands for executing and reporting of macros.
XAP-800
Execute Macro1:
#50 Macro 1 1 \x0D
Translation On XAP800 with a unit ID of 0 run Macro1 the protocol
does not say if all parts of the macro actually ran only that macro1 has
been initiated
#50 Macro \x0D should report which macro is running.
Not sure I answered your question.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon May 19, 2008 7:35 am 
Offline


Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 7:49 am
Posts: 3
Location: Mpls, MN

That's helpful info too. I answered part of my own question later that same day. I was looking in the Converge Pro software, on the Macro tab.


Type - ID - Command - Arg 1 - Arg 2 - Arg 3 - etc....


Type - referring to the type of Clear One Product (i.e. 880T, 840T etc.)

ID - referring to which unit (0 if only 1 unit of that type)

Still could use some help on the software side, understanding what's happening in the remaining fields.

Being able to record a macro is a breeze, but I'd like to feel more comfortable editing & creating macros in the Converge software.

Thanks


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon May 19, 2008 10:14 am 
Offline


Joined: Sat Nov 25, 2006 8:15 am
Posts: 94
Location: Pittsburgh, PA

[quote="JPeterson"]That's helpful info too. I answered part of my own question later that same day. I was looking in the Converge Pro software, on the Macro tab.


Type - ID - Command - Arg 1 - Arg 2 - Arg 3 - etc....


Type - referring to the type of Clear One Product (i.e. 880T, 840T etc.)

ID - referring to which unit (0 if only 1 unit of that type)

Still could use some help on the software side, understanding what's happening in the remaining fields.

Being able to record a macro is a breeze, but I'd like to feel more comfortable editing & creating macros in the Converge software.

Thanks[/quote]

If I recall I believe the 880T would #D0 for type unit 0 etc
the manual doesn't mention the actual arguments per se, however,
they are covered under various other sections. The easiest way to get
info your looking for would be hyperterminal or some other program

then make a macro using clearones' software
then initiate the macro using the appropriate commands
something like (880T) #D0 macro 1 1 {for macro1} \x0D
then watch for the return serial string. If it contains the arguments
then those could most likely be issued dynamically via a terminal program. Never tried it but many times when I controlling something
for the first time I just send some commands to see what happens.
Not all capabilites are listed in manuals.

The manual only mentions initiating and reporting maybe there's more.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue May 20, 2008 7:04 am 
Offline


Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 7:49 am
Posts: 3
Location: Mpls, MN

thanks, that gives me a good place to start from.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jun 12, 2008 12:01 am 
Offline


Joined: Wed Jun 11, 2008 3:33 pm
Posts: 34

Hi JPeterson,

Just to expound on a few points. The "Macro Builder" in both G-ware and Console is a great cheat sheet for programming. Our protocol is very powerful and very flexible. But depending on the Command, the argument requirements change. Use the macro builder to define your Ascii command strings if you are unsure what you need in your RS-232 string.

RT


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


 

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

Search for:
Powered by phpBB © 2009 phpBB Group